Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

"You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face."
Eleanor Roosevelt

 

I really appreciate all of the positive thoughts and encouragement for my interview yesterday! Without going into detail, I have another interview on Thursday with someone “important” at the same chain restaurant, but another location. It’s complicated buuuut wish me well!! I’m really hoping to get this! And to answer the questions, it’s a job as a server (waitress). No, not the most glamorous job but iI would be earning more money than I am now, I need some experience in the restaurant industry if I’m going to go to culinary school (in my opinion), it will help me be more outgoing, it will allow me to meet new people, and I simply need a change.

 

I’ve been on a ROLL with breakfasts the past two days…

Sept 21 005

Yesterday was overnight oats made with 1/2 cup oats, Greek yogurt, almond milk, coconut milk kefir, and a pinch of salt.

Sept 21 001

All topped with 1/3 of a Whole Foods Fat Free Blueberry Muffin, blueberries…

Sept 21 006

and figs. I don’t think I’ve shared with you my love of fresh figs… they are amazing. I’ve loved them ever since I was really little and would eat them straight off of my great-grandmother’s fig tree (p.s. , I WANT A FIG TREE).

Sept 21 002

And almond butter. Which I haven’t had in a while… I’ve been on a peanut butter kick but I had a sudden urge for the almond variety.

 

Lunch was somewhat light yesterday and on-the-go.

A smoothie with strawberries, pineapple, Jay Robb’s vanilla whey protein powder, ice, and almond milk.

Sept 21 010

Perfection.

And an apple.

Sept 21 009

I had dinner out with a friend last night.. un-pictured salad and chicken parmesan at a local Greek diner. I don’t eat it often but it was gooood.

With a Skinny Cow Chocolate Ice Cream thing for dessert.

Sept 21 011

 

Breakfast today… oh wow.

Sept 21 013

Overnight pumpkin oats parfait…

Sept 21 014

There’s banana slices and pumpkin butter layered..

Sept 21 015

With Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter on top.

No words my friends, no words.

 

I then got my fitness on at the gym. Which, by the way, I’m back to logging on the Work It tab above, if you are interested. It was a good workout but honestly, I’m getting a bit tired of the elliptical. My options are limited because all I can do is elliptical and the stat bike. And swim. But I’m TERRIBLE at swimming and honestly don’t want to make a fool of myself. Tips? How do I spice up my cardio workout?

 

Lunch was quite possibly the best sandwich i’ve ever made…

Sept 21 019

1/3 of an avocado mashed with 1 wedge of light laughing cow cheese, tomato, buffalo deli chicken, and honey mustard.

Sept 21 021

Oh boy. This was AMAZING. The laughing cow and the avocado together… Heaven.

Sept 21 023

Along with the best apple ever… AKA Honey Crisp.  My first of the season. Did NOT disappoint.

Sept 21 024

With some PB & Co.’s The Bees Knees for dipping. And a chocolate Adora disk for “dessert.”

Sept 21 027

I also had these Sun Chips and figs before work.

Sept 21 026

I went to a Mary Kay party with a friend and ate “dinner” there in the form of a few bites of a croissant, an Oreo, some Cheet-O’s, and nut clusters. NOT the most satisfying dinner ever.

Hence this cereal when I came home..

Sept 21 028

A mix of Quaker oatmeal squares, Kashi Honey Sunshine, and grape nuts. In almond milk.

I also had some ice cream and a spoonful of peanut butter after.

Which brings up another subject… today on twitter, someone tweeted about how some healthy living blogs almost make them feel guilty. And I concur. Many bloggers seem almost… “perfect.” No junk food, no nighttime snacks, rare desserts… or at least they don’t blog about these things. And it almost makes me feel bad sometimes because I will almost always, without fail, have a dessert and sometimes a snack after dinner. And then I read these other blogs of bloggers who eat salads for lunch every single day, exercise every single day, and rarely indulge in desserts or other things… and it DOES make me feel a bit bad. Am I alone in this? What do you think?

Today I am thankful for…

  1. My best friend
  2. A new job and all that it will bring (hopefully)
  3. Laughter

 

"Stay away from what might have been and look at what will be."

~Marsha Petrie Sue

