Tags

, , , , , , , ,

That is the only way to describe almost everything I’ve eaten today.. not so pretty. But isn’t it sometimes the ugliest things that taste the best?!

But before we get to that, if you read Caitlin’s blog (and if you don’t, you NEED to) you may remember her Arms and Abs Challenge she blogged about the other day. Basically it involves two programs called 100 Push Ups and 200 Sit Ups.. the names are pretty self-explanatory. Anyways, as i’ve been lacking in the strength training department and both of these programs only take a few minutes 3 times a week, I thought why not? My muscle definition is going south and hey, I’m always up for a challenge! And who doesn’t have 10 minutes to make time for something to improve ourselves, both inside and out!? Anyone else in?

 

Anyways, last night’s dinner started with this…

Nov 10 001

Be still my heart.

Nov 10 002

And a salad.

And steak but well, I figured you guys probably don’t want to see that. Annnnd I was kinda starving by that time and taking a picture was just too time consuming 😉 I was craving steak like mad yesterday… I think my body was wanting iron?

Nov 10 003

Breakfast today was yet ANOTHER TJ’s cereal and believe me, the self-control it took to wait THIS long to open the box… woo boy.

Nov 10 004

It. Was. GOOD. Kinda like Honey Bunches of Oats but maple flavored and just better.

 

With a banana and almond milk.

I also had some animal crackers before the gym. [side note: have you ever noticed how complex of a flavor animal crackers are? They are sweet but slightly salty and vanilla-y but also lemon-y… and apparently i have too much time on my hands to think about the complex flavor of an animal cracker.)

Post gym I had this V8 I found in the gym drink machine.

IMAG0047

Um tasty drinkable vegetables? Don’t mind if I do. I used to LOVE this stuff as a kid. Yes, I was strange.

Along with TJ’s mini shredded wheats.

IMAG0048

Annd then I came home to embark upon a baking journey.

But first dinner..

Nov 10 008

A salad..

Nov 10 009

And a baked potato topped with a bit of light smart balance, light sour cream, and 2% Cheddar Cheese. Comfort at it’s finest.

 

Starting with Angela’s Pumpkin Butter.

Nov 10 005

All I can say is… amazing. Forreal. This stuff is better than ANY I’ve bought. Better than TJ’s. I’m talking I was eating this stuff with a spoon. In other words, go make this now.

And what started me making the pumpkin butter was to make her Pumpkin Butter Swirl Butternut Pecan Bread. I saw the recipe the other day and I just HAD to make it!!! Except I subbed pumpkin for butternut purree, added 1/4 tsp. too much baking powder (oops), used an egg instead of a flax egg, used half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, used no pecans, and added yogurt instead of applesauce (I couldn’t find it at the store.. i’m talking i walked the ENTIRE store a couple of times looking for applesauce and still couldn’t find it. I gave up. WHERE THE HECK IS THE APPLESAUCE?!) Anyways, layering ensued.

Nov 10 006
First layer of batter and pumpkin butter.

Nov 10 007
Followed with another layer…

Baked and out came… THIS!

Nov 10 010

YUM! It rose much more than hers and it looks AMAZING. Oh who are we kidding?! I nibbled a corner after the picture. But you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to see a slice of this heavenly bread… Or you can just go make yourself some 😉

 

"Slow down and everything you are chasing will come around and catch you." – John DePaola

