Tags

,

The other day while reading the lovely Freya’s blog, I discovered this 30 Day Challenge that she was doing..

 

201104122006.jpg

I thought that it looked fun, and a good way for you to get to know me a little better, so I decided to join in 🙂 This 30 Day Challenge may take a little longer than 30 days for me to complete, as I don’t blog every day, but it should be fun nonetheless. Care to join?!

And now, onto Day 1 – Discuss your current relationship, or if single, how single life is.

This is the question that relates to yesterday’s post and the song by Brandon Heath, “I’m Not Who I Was.” (If you listen to the song, this all will make sense)How does this relate, well let me tell you.. To start with, I am not who I was a year ago today. While it may not come across on the blog, if you met me a year ago, you would not recognize me today. I was quiet, shy, reserved, afraid to try new things, etc. A year ago today, I was also on bed rest and my life revolved around my house, my family, and my 3 closest friends.. that was it. I never went out and did fun things. I was unhappy with my life but I couldn’t put my finger on why, exactly. What changed? This summer changed me. And honestly, my job. My job forced me to become more outgoing and as a result, I have made SO many more friends, I am more adventurous and daring (in a good way), and I also met the love of my life (more on that in a minute).

But back to the question.. I dated my high school boyfriend for 4 years until we (ahem, I) decided to go our separate ways about 2 years ago. After that, I was so excited to finally be single and I felt so ALIVE that I stayed away from serious dating/relationships for a long time. A year and a half ago, I met a guy and fell HARD for him. After 2 weeks (see a problem here?). Things ended shortly because of outside circumstances. I got over it the best I could but I never stopped caring about him. This time last year, we met again and everything we both had felt came back strong and we tried one more time… thus beginning, the most life-changing summer of my life. Things lasted a while longer this time bur things ended yet again due to circumstances beyond my control. I was crushed. And because of what had happened, I lost trust completely in men. My wall was up and no one was getting in. I coped the only way I knew how, by moving on to someone else. And then someone else. Until I was just tired. Finally, and only thanks to God, I realized that I couldn’t replace him. What we had was good but even though I could not understand it, it was not in God’s plan for us to be together. I accepted it and was finally at peace with myself.

And then my God throws me a curveball.. I started working where I work now and like I said, met new friends and new people. And one person in particular. It didn’t happen just like that, it wasn’t love at first sight. He worked with me and I saw him everyday but I always though he’d never be interested in me. And I wasn’t about to jump into another unhealthy relationship. And finally after a month of just being friends at work, he asked me out. And that was that.. well, not really. It took him yet ANOTHER month to get my guard down.. and boy did he try. I was hurt, I didn’t want to trust him, I didn’t think I could ever love again. But through patience and love he finally got through to me. It came to a point where he gave me the option of moving forward or leaving.. I weighed my options. Here’s a guy who treats my like a princess, better than anyone has EVER treated me… times a million, the way I should be treated. A guy who has been there for me as a friend for two months. Or I could go back to being in my own little bubble, safe but what else did I have?  Memories. Nothing. And I prayed. Boy did I prayed. And then it hit me… I would be an idiot to walk away. And so I didn’t. And now I am happier than I ever thought possible. Yes, we do have our days. But the love and kindness he shows to me and others makes me love him more each and every day. He has everything I’ve always wanted, and more. He came into my life at a PERFECT time.. timing that I can only attribute to God.

So there you have it, my answer to Day 1. Yeah it’s a bit winded… but, well, that’s just me for you 🙂

Stay tuned tomorrow for a birthday giveaway 🙂

“He will be with you always, when everything is falling apart. You will be safe in His arms, because the Hands that hold the world, are holding your heart.”

