Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Yes, I admit it. I have commitment issues. As in I can’t commit. As is evidenced by the 10+ open jars of different nut butters that are currently taking up almost an entire shelf in my refrigerator AND cabinet. And then this happened…

photo (79)

Yes, my friends, the giant wall of nut butter. Where I purchased another jar of nut butter. Thank you Whole Foods for supporting my inability to commit. Pshhh.. who needs that?!

So yes, I did indeed go to Whole Foods today. And Target. Be jealous 😉 I came home with a carload of groceries, workout gear, and dishware. And tons and tons and tons of bars. In other words, the best things you can possibly buy.

The haul:

IMG_5897

Cute workout clothes from Target including 2 pairs of shorts and 2 shirts.

IMG_5900

Isn’t it cute?! Definitely a step up from my previous PT wardrobe..ahem.

And I got a sports bra that is amazing. I love you Target.

IMG_5903

They also have cute dishes, as we all know.

IMG_5905

Perfect for smoothies!

IMG_5906

I’m a sucker for cute dishes.. it’s true.

Thank goodness I’m going back to work Monday and earning some money…

 

I started the day off with something pretty boring to you all I’m sure… cereal again.

IMG_5867

Nature’s Path Blueberry Cinnamon with 1/2 of a banana and 1% milk. Exactly what I was craving.

IMG_5869

With some coffee and one of my winter mugs. Cute mugs are cute mugs, I don’t discriminate with the seasons 🙂 Not to mention that 90% of my mugs are winter themed.. not sure why that is.

Lunch was the BOMB!!

IMG_5871

This beastly salad had:

  • romaine
  • tomato
  • broccoli
  • carrots
  • turkey
  • pickles
  • ketchup
  • mustard

IMG_5873

Tasted like a turkey sub with lots of pickles.. san the actual sub part. Delish!!!

IMG_5875

With a side of peanut butter toast.

IMG_5883

On my way home from Whole Foods, I had a serving of these peanut butter filled pretzels. Dang. Nuff said bout that.

IMG_5895

And this deeeeelicious tea!

IMG_5896

For dinner, I whipped up one of the lovely Jessica’s recipes, Crispy Honey-Ginger Chicken.

IMG_5908

They were SO FREAKING GOOD!!! You can follow the link for the recipe but it basically involves marinating the chicken in a mixture of buttermilk, honey, ginger, and garlic. Then you dredge them in whole wheat bread crumbs (I didn’t have the panko that the recipe called for), whole wheat flour, and spices and bake. And then, you dip them in honey.

IMG_5911

Oh my.. oh my… Try these!!! They reminded me of when I was younger and used to dip chicken nuggets in honey AND barbecue sauce together. Sounds weird but it was awesome.

IMG_5912

I also had some kale that I sautéed with some chicken stock and POM. Along with salt and pepper. Simple but awesome.

IMG_5910

Annnnd some fresh white corn on the cob. I boiled them in water that was salted and buttered (heh) for 5 minutes, perfect.

IMG_5914

And for dessert I had a bowl of fresh berries (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, and blackberries).

IMG_5918

And 1/2 of a sugar cookie and 1/2 of a chocolate oatmeal cookie from Whole Foods. Dare I say it, the sugar cookie was the best!!! It’s amazing how something so simple can be so wonderful.

IMG_5916

 

I have all sorts of new foods from Whole Foods, at least new to me, like coconut milk, cashew butter, tempeh,… Which, by the way, I’ve never cooked tempeh before, how should I go about it for the first time? Any good recipes?

 

By the way, I loved your responses to the survey questions yesterday!! So fun!!! I also just wanted to take a moment to thank you all for reading. You guys seriously make my day. You uplift me, encourage me, make me laugh, support me, and make me smile when I’m having a hard time. This blog has truly changed my life, but not because of the blog itself, because of the relationships and friendships I have formed through the blog world. Each and every one of you are amazing and gorgeous and have the biggest loveliest hearts. I love you all. You are always in my thoughts and prayers!

 

Check out this article my girl Lauren sent me today about injuries, it is awesome!!! And so, so very true! It’s a great article for anyone who has ever had an injury, currently has one, or is a runner.

Good night!

Love,

Jess

 

“So don’t give up now, you’re so close to a brand new day”

“Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass on a summer day listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is hardly a waste of time.”  ~John Lubbock